*Reminder* As stated in the Texas transportation Code 503.063 a dealer may only issue only ONE temporary buyer’s tag for each vehicle sold. Due to Hurricane Harvey, Governor Greg Abbott suspended certain statutes related to the enforcement of title and registration laws in the 58 counties included in the state’s disaster declaration:

Angelina Comal Karnes Refugio
Aransas DeWitt Kerr Sabine
Atascosa Fayette Kleberg San Jacinto
Austin Fort Bend Lavaca San Patricio
Bastrop Galveston Lee Trinity
Bee Goliad Leon Tyler
Bexar Gonzales Liberty Victoria
Brazoria Grimes Live Oak Walker
Brazos Guadalupe Madison Waller
Burleson Hardin Matagorda Washington
Caldwell Harris Montgomery Wharton
Calhoun Jackson Newton Willacy
Cameron Jasper Nueces Wilson
Chambers Jefferson Orange
Colorado Jim Wells Polk

Law enforcement officers around the state will not issue citations for expired registration to Texas residents from these counties through October 16, 2017. The state has instructed law enforcement only to issue warnings if vehicles do not have a current registration displayed. Governor Abbott has also extended the requirement that newly purchased vehicles be transferred into the purchaser’s name from 30 days to 75 days in the affected counties, preventing late penalties from being assessed.